Private investigators participate in a wide array of activities including investigating the cause damage of individuals or their personal property, investigating crimes or civil wrongdoing, obtaining information on stolen property and acquiring evidence to be used in front of a board, court, investigative committee or officer.
It’s important to note that in the Commonwealth of Virginia, individuals must obtain registration through the Department of Criminal Justice Services in order to become private investigators. They cannot operate independently of a licensed PI business, unless the individual also obtains a PI business license.
Virginia Private Investigator License Requirements
- Age: You must be at least 18 years old to become a private investigator in Virginia.
- Provisional Requirements: Applicants must be citizens or legal residents of the U.S.
- Criminal Background Check: If you have been convicted of a crime, you must fill out and submit the Criminal History Supplemental Form with your application.
- Military Discharge: If you experienced a military court martial, this may affect your ability to become a PI in Virginia. You will need to include information regarding your offense in the Criminal History Supplemental Form.
- Financial History: Your financial history does not have an impact on your ability to become a registered PI in Virginia.
- Mental Health Evaluation: Applying to become a PI in Virginia does not involve a mental health evaluation.
- Insurance Needed: Every private investigator is required to maintain a reasonable amount of comprehensive general liability insurance that is determined by the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services.
- Automatic Disqualifications: You may not become a private investigator in Virginia if you have a criminal conviction of a misdemeanor involving damage to real or personal property, moral turpitude, controlled substances or imitation controlled substances, firearms, battery and assault or prohibited sexual behavior. If you were convicted of any felony, you may not become a private investigator.
Education and Experience
- Degree: You do not need a degree to become a registered private investigator in Virginia.
- Experience: You do not need any additional experience other than the required training courses for becoming a PI. However, if you have prior law enforcement or private security service experience, you may be eligible for a partial training exemption.
- Written Exams: At the end of your training course, you must complete a written comprehensive exam.
- Training Courses: Before you apply to become a private investigator, you need to complete a 60-hour entry-level training course. You must complete this course within 12 months of submitting your application. After your application is approved, you need to complete eight hours of in-service training as a PI. If you qualify for a partial training exemption, you are still required to complete six hours of training orientation and 16 hours of law training.
Forms Needed for Detective License
- Fees Required: The initial registration application fee is $25.00. The fingerprint processing application fee is $50.00. If you intend on carrying a firearm, there is also a $10.00 fee for the firearms endorsement application.
- Registration Needed: Individuals wishing to become private investigators in Virginia must apply to become legally registered. If you wish to operate as your own individual business, you also need to acquire a business license.
- Maintaining Your PI License: You need to renew your PI license every two years. The renewal fee is $20.00, and the firearms endorsement application, if applicable, is $10.00. If you do not renew your license within 60 days after your license expires, you must reapply as an initial applicant, pay the applicable fees and complete the required training.
Virginia Private Investigator Salary and Job Outlook
As with most occupations, the salary for private investigators varies by locality. On average, private investigators in Virginia make $57,100 per year according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Those working in the southern portion of the state near the Virginia Beach area are on the lower end of the pay scale at $55,660. Those working to the north closer to the Washington DC metropolitan area are on the higher end at $64,270 per year.
Helpful Virginia Links and Resources