Private detectives offer a variety of services for business or individuals seeking information regarding legal, financial or even personal matters. This can include collecting evidence to be presented in court, uncovering clues about a case or working undercover to gather information.
On average, there are 1,100 annual job openings for private investigators throughout the country. Individuals in Kansas who are interested in joining this industry must first educate themselves about licensure requirements and disqualifiers in the state. Each state varies, so be sure that you meet the specified expectations in Kansas in order to be considered for a position.
Find schools and get information on the program that’s
right for you.
(It’s fast and free!)
Kansas Private Investigator License Requirements
- Age: The state of Kansas requires private investigator applicants to be 21 years old, at minimum.
- Criminal Background Check: You are required to undergo a criminal background check upon application for licensure. You must have no felony or misdemeanor convictions within ten years of applying.
- Personal History: According to your background investigation, you must have good moral character and no addictions to drugs or alcohol.
- Mental Health Check: Applicants in Kansas must not have any mental impairments that prevent them from carrying out the job’s central functions.
- Insurance Needed: In order to qualify for licensure, Kansas private detective applicants should have a $100,000 corporate surety bond or liability insurance with $100,000 of coverage. A $100,000 deposit with the Kansas State Treasurer is also an acceptable form of insurance.
- Automatic Disqualifiers: Failure of the background check; no proof of U.S. citizenship; recent felony or misdemeanor convictions; lack of a high school diploma or GED.
Education and Experience
- Degree: Completion of high school education is the minimum requirement for Kansas private investigators. That being said, if you have a degree in law enforcement or a related field, this will only solidify your chances of being hired as a P.I.
- Accepted Experience: No previous experience is required to begin work for a private investigator agency.
- Written Exams: Applicants must complete the Private Detective Licensing Act Exam, which will test you on the act itself, as well as Kansas’ Administrative Regulations and the criminal use of dangerous weapons.
Forms Needed for Detective License in Kansas
- Fees Required: There is an application fee of $250 if you plan to work for an agency or as an independent entity. If you choose to start your own agency, or if you are a partner or associate of an existing one, the fee is $100.
- Documents Needed: The application requires proof of education, exam passage and insurance in addition to fingerprint cards and five personal references from individuals who have known you at least five years.
- Maintenance Required for PI License: Every two years you will need to renew your license. This requires a renewal application fee of $175.
Kansas Private Investigator Salary and Job Outlook
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Kansas private detectives and investigators make an annual average salary of $45,300.